“S. Darko”: Your First Glimpse

Since I heard about the planned sequel to Donnie Darko over the summer, there hasn’t been much news. Well, there probably was, I just didn’t check for any. But today I got curious and found out some very important facts: it will be straight-to-DVD, the release date will be April 28,2009, and, most importantly, Elizabeth Berkley will have a role!! This is fantastic news, and I really can’t wait for the release.

I guess I’m a bad fan that way. A lot of people get offended when there are remakes (or sequels with none of the previous cast or crew involved, such as this one) of their favorite movies. But I just get exicited. I also can’t wait for the remake of The Rocky Horror Picture Show and The Man Who Fell to Earth…but I haven’t heard news about those two in a really long time.

Anyways, back to S. Darko. Here is the trailer:

What I love about this trailer is that it tells you absolutely nothing about the film itself. In fact, 99% of the clips shown are from Donnie Darko. The only thing we learn is that the movie is about Donnie’s lil’ sis, Samatha Darko, which was implied by the title itself.

But I don’t care, I’m just excited. Even if it sucks.

EDIT:

I worked on this film and that is NOT the trailer. It’s a fan made one that somehow made the rounds on youtube a few months ago and now everyone is assuming it’s legit but it’s not. The real trailer debuted at Comic Con last night and won’t hit the net for a few more days.

Thanks to Kristen for the info!

3 Responses to ““S. Darko”: Your First Glimpse”


  1. 1 Kristen February 9, 2009 at 12:42 am

    I worked on this film and that is NOT the trailer. It’s a fan made one that somehow made the rounds on youtube a few months ago and now everyone is assuming it’s legit but it’s not. The real trailer debuted at Comic Con last night and won’t hit the net for a few more days.

  2. 2 jepartyservice February 9, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Hey Kristen, thanks for the info. I assumed it was legit since it was linked from IMDB, but I guess even they’re wrong.

    I’ll be looking forward to the real trailer!!

  3. 3 Kristen February 9, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    imdb is a user-submitted info site, so while it’s usually agents submitting things that are legit sometimes random people submit weird info as well. actually, for example in the case of s. darko there are two “actors” that are listed on the credits page that don’t have any lines – they were just extras, of which this film had hundreds, so they shouldn’t even be on there. anyways, i hope you enjoy the film when it comes out! 🙂


Leave a comment




Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu