“Showgirls: The Musical” and the Fan Base to Rival Them All.

Elaine texted me this morning that the new revival of “Bye Bye Birdie” was closing earlier than expected– at first I was sad, but then I decided to do some research of my own.

http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118012029.html?categoryid=15&cs=1

Turns out, “Bye Bye Biridie” is for sure closing on January 24th– but that’s actually 2 weeks after the original closing date. Plus, there’s really no reason for the show to go on past that since John and Gina (that is Stamos and Gershon respectively) will both be leaving the cast on January 24th, regardless of whether the show continues or not.

So that minor tribulation was over, but thinking about “Bye Bye Birdie” led me to think about Gina Gershon, who naturally led me to ponder the cinematic masterpiece “Showgirls”.

At the same time, I was also contemplating my future (“Showgirls” opens the door to deep, insightful thought) and I decided that I would become famous for writing “Showgirls: The Musical”. Obviously, the fan base is crazy enough that they would all need to see it (a blog post explaining why the “Showgirls” fan base is the craziest in the world, second only to Britney Spears’, will be coming soon).

I tried finding any recent info on the previous reported plans for an official “Showgirls” musical but the only really official thing I could find was from 2006… that’s 3 years ago. However, I did find this blog post referencing the project from 2008 and I thought you might enjoy it:

http://filmexperience.blogspot.com/2008/06/gina-gershon-on-showgirls-musical.html

Gina lists her “Top 5 movies that star Gina Gershon”, but amazingly, “Showgirls” isn’t one of them!

Sorry for the small digression– back to my future and writing “Showgirls: The Musical”…

Can I just assume that “Showgirls:The Musical” has died and that I can start my own version? Of course, once I finish it, I’ll mail it to Joe Eszterhas for a look and once he emphatically loves it, he’ll push the studio to help me out. However, he originally had the people behind “Urinetown” working for him, which is actually legit, so maybe I should try other pursuits?

I’m conflicted.

3 Responses to ““Showgirls: The Musical” and the Fan Base to Rival Them All.”


  1. 1 jepartyservice December 10, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Wait…so is it closing early? I was under the impression it was because John Stamos (who I follow on Twitter) has been saying that he would be leaving the role on Jan. 24th, but saying that the show would go on. Then I read that the whole thing was closing the 24th, so that’s why I thought that it was closing early.

    But anyways, yeah you should still write it! Showgirls is begging to be a musical, and it would be perfect for Broadway! Well, more appropriate for Las Vegas, I suppose.

    Is it going to be an opera now, or a musical?

  2. 2 jepartyservice December 10, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Also, I think I picked the right X-mas gift for you 😉

    (And this and the previous comment were by me, Elaine, just to clear that up.)

  3. 3 RESOURCES May 12, 2013 at 10:52 pm

    You actually make it seem so easy along with your presentation but
    I find this matter to be really one thing that I think I might
    never understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very huge
    for me. I’m looking ahead on your subsequent publish, I’ll try to get the grasp of it!


Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


