Things that remind me that I’m in the South

Sometimes I’m just sitting in my dorm room or walking to class and I forget that I’m deep in the Georgian south. But there are always little things that are jump out and remind me because they are so different from San Diego.

  1. Confederate flag bumper stickers
  2. That all the cafeteria workers call me “baby”
  3. There are restaurants that have smoking sections (inside!)
  4. The sight of cockroaches (mostly squished, dead ones)
  5. Spanish moss hanging over the streets
  6. Humidity
  7. The un-ironic use of “y’all”
  8. Actual southern accents
  9. Periods of rain that last for more than ten minutes
  10. That biscuits and gravy and grits are always on the breakfast menu
  11. That people judge me when I say that it’s cold
  12. That you can get fired for being gay!
  13. That even my art school is fairly conservative
  14. That Southern Charm exists — people always smile at you on the street

As a bonus: Things That Remind Me That I’m in a Small Town

  1. There is only ONE Starbucks!
  2. The mall is far away
  3. I can walk downtown
  4. It is an exciting day when you go to Target
  5. Errbody knows your shit. (Well, I don’t know anybody’s shit and I don’t think anybody knows mine, but I’m just making an assumption here.)
0 Responses to “Things that remind me that I’m in the South”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


