Because a post is long overdue…

Hey Boshers,

Who knew college was so hard? But now that I’ve finally finished my last midterm of the week (I still have another midterm and two papers due next week and I also have an 9AM class tomorrow, but WTH, I feel like writing today!), I have time to come to Bosh and let you know about my life in Harlem.

I guess these first 8 weeks or so have been tough for me to blog because I’ve been feeling generally uninspired to do anything– uninspired to write, join clubs, get a job, eat decent meals, exercise, sing, draw, compose music, doodle, and at times even uninspired to do homework. But for some reason, this week I feel on top of everything (most likely because of my discovery of the beauty of Google Calendars) and I’ll be starting work soon hopefully and everything will be on track. In fact, today, I thought of two songs I wanted to do vocal arrangements for (in addition to Britney’s discography), recommenced work on the “Showgirls: The Opera” libretto, mulled a theme in my mind for a potential play, and I even finished all my homework according to my schedule.

I guess it could be described as beautiful.

Of course, I’m not going to finish any of those things, but the fact that I’m thinking about them again is promising. And better yet, I don’t have class tomorrow evening like I always do, so this is going to be a relaxing Thursday!

Since I’ve been gone for so long, I have no idea where I’m going with this post… there are so many things I want to talk about but they all require their own posts and I don’t think I have the stamina to write 20 posts in one night. So I’ll focus on what I did just two nights ago, Monday, a little more than 48 hours ago.

The day started off pretty bland. I sat in my room and did homework. I’m pretty sure I ate EasyMac for breakfast and Cup Noodle for lunch.

But that night, after doing extensive research, I decided to go down to the Village near NYU (I am really jealous of their area) for a haircut. All of the SuperCuts in the City had gotten bad reviews on Yelp and Citysearch and I found this local place called “Astor Place Barbershop”. Plus, I was planning on going down there for a book signing that Augusten Burroughs was doing at a nearby Barnes & Noble.

The barbershop was so ghetto that I walked right past it the first time. There wasn’t even a store front– there was just a sign on the side of a bank that said to go down these wide stairs for the barbershop. I walked down the stairs, and I saw on the door that they had a karaoke bar. That’s really strange for a barbershop. After opening the door, I was greeted by a huge basement barbershop that almost seemed to inhabit the entire underground of the city. I was directed somewhere to the left and straight into the chair of a woman named Suzy. I told her what I wanted and she was done within 10 minutes. However, I wasn’t specific enough and she gave me a slightly different hairstyle, but I’ve been subconsciously wanting to try something new, so maybe Suzy was just reading my subconscious. The whole shebang only cost me $15 and I tipped Suzy $5. It was fucking glorious.

After my cut, I met up with the friend I had come down to the Village with (she wanted to meet up with a high school friend) and the three of us walked the 6 blocks up to Union Square. Nothing really too impressive about the square itself except for all the people and the good shopping surrounding it. We walked into the Barnes & Noble, which was really unassuming from the front, but it turns out that it’s 4 stories and massive. When we got to the 4th level where Augusten was supposed to be reading and signing, it was already packed. There were perhaps 100 people seated in the front, and then another 100 that were forced to stand in the back. Not a bad audience huh Mr. Burroughs?

He read an excerpt of his new book “You Better Not Cry” and at the end even answered some questions. For you Burroughs fans (which is really just Elaine), he revealed that “Dry” has been optioned to become a TV series! I’m not sure if that’s a good or a bad thing. Someone also asked him what his next book was about, but he couldn’t tell us. He did confirm that it was already in the works and mostly finished. He even has another book in progress but he said that that one will most likely be shitty.

We had to wait in a long-ass line after the reading to get our books signed and we ended up waiting 3 hours. But it was worth it I guess since when I told him that my name wasn’t Elaine (they had written down our dedication names on post-its before going up to him to speed up the whole process) he sassily retorted, “I know!”. And then when I told him that Elaine was the person who introduced me to his work and that she’s read every single book of his several times (both are true), he said, “well that’s awesome, I really hope she enjoys it!”.

Well here is the photo that is the culmination of all these events:

Augusten and Josh

Augusten and Josh-- new besties.

Notice the haircut, the author, and the autograph book.

I’d say it was a night well spent.

2 Responses to “Because a post is long overdue…”


  1. 1 jepartyservice November 5, 2009 at 7:49 am

    I don’t even get a credit for finding this event in the first place? You are so unappreciative of my secretarial skills.

    And Dry will be a good TV show! Hopefully. But wouldn’t it be more of a miniseries? I mean…how can it have a season two if we already know how it ends? Unless some writer just takes over and changes it.

    But I’m more excited for the shitty book! I hope he writes another novel one day.

  2. 2 jepartyservice November 5, 2009 at 7:50 am

    Oh and no wonder the Britney tag is so huge! She’s barely mentioned in our last two posts and we tagged her in both.


Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


