Don’t you know me, Savannah, Georgia? I’m the new Berlin Wall!

Yesterday was probably one of my most exciting days here in Savannah because I got to go see a production of Hedwig and the Angry Inch. By now I think that I’m able to speak with some authority on this musical, so I guess I will.

From what I can piece together, this is a new venture of the legendary gay club Club One. They’re using the small theatre in the club and are stating to put on musicals there. (I think.) And what better way to kick things off than with Hedwig? It was a really good show. The theatre seating was just a bunch of chair set up, so it was a more intimate setting. There were about 30 people there (as many as we had at the library) and they ranged in age from 18 – mid 60s. Which was kind of surprisingly, considering that this 3 PM show was done specifically for an 18+ audience. The room itself smelled like cigarettes smoke and had a nice atmosphere.

They did change the show in that rather than having Hedwig do the parts of her mother, Luther and Tommy, they actually casted actors for them. The three of them sat in a little window box thing from where I guess backstage would be. They sat all next to each other on a bench, and when it came time for one of their parts, they stood up, the spotlight shined on them, they said their lines and the spotlight went off again. So Hedwig turned to them and was speaking to them rather then just doing the parts herself on stage. And when she opened Tommy’s door, he did his parts from there rather than just an off-stage voice. It thought the whole thing was a little odd. But just because I’m not used to seeing it like that, I guess. I did kind of like having Tommy actually sing “Wicked Little Town” to Hedwig in the end.  He walked out of the window and onto stage where he painted the cross on her forehead, shared a moment with her, and then left. That was kind of nice to actually see. However, it does make the ending a little less interpretive. It’s a little more straight-forward and a little less, “Wait…are they the same person? Did Tommy every exist? WTF is happening?!?!” But that’s not necessarily a bad thing, I guess.

As for the actor, he was just really rock n’ roll and kickass. He has tattoos and tons of energy, jumping around and just rocking out the whole time. But then he was also very vulnerable and was just really incredible (I’m kind of bad at reviewing things. I just know that was really good). And he did the whole show in a sequined pair of four inch fuck-me pumps, a feat not even attempted by JCM.

Unfortunately, poor Yitzhak couldn’t compare to the Cygent Threatre’s Katie Alexander, but that bitch set a fucking high bar, to be fair.

All it all, it was a really good show. And I’m really thankful that this theatre exists, and that I happened across the flyer for it. I mean, they’re doing Rocky Horror next. Could it get any better?

Well, maybe if they did CATS. Keep your fingers crossed!!

Love,

Elaine

1 Response to “Don’t you know me, Savannah, Georgia? I’m the new Berlin Wall!”


  1. 1 jepartyservice October 1, 2009 at 2:46 am

    Oh, and Josh, just so you know:

    She didn’t exit through Tommy’s door, but the door that the audience came from leaving Yitzhak up on stage (just like at the Cygnet).

    He used tomatoes and it was very dramatic. He squeezed them with his hands first and then smashed them against his chest.

    The parts where she yells at the band in German (the improvisation thing, and the other thing (what is it? I can’t remember) were in English instead. I guess that’s good? I don’t really know.

    Most of the slides were Google images. There were a few hand drawn ones for Origin of Love. Again, I don’t know if this is good or bad.


Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


