The Night Before

Hello. This will be the last time that I’ll be blogging from the comfort of my own bed (well, until winter break, that is). Tomorrow at approximately 7:25 AM I’ll be departing from San Diego to go 2,000 miles to Savannah, Georgia. Well, we’ll have a layover in Atlanta, but after that it’s off to Savannah!

Georgia is pretty far away.

Everybody I talk to keeps asking me, “Why are you going to Georgia?” And I guess it’s a fair question. It does seem a little random. But I am just so ready to be out of Scripps Ranch away from everybody I know and on my own. In a perfect world would I be headed to Savannah? No. Probably not. (Well, let’s be honest here. Definitely not). But that was the option I had and the school is a good one, so it made sense to go. And I am excited. The idea of a quaint town is starting to grow on me more, and I love that I get to go to art school. You know, I was having a tough time deciding between SCAD and SFSU until I went to the eye doctor and the assistant was making small talk with me about it. I told him that I was having trouble deciding, and he just said, “Why WOULDN’T you go?” And he’s right. I have this incredible opportunity and I’d be stupid to pass it up. And I’ll be fucking honest, and I know that this is bad to say and elitist and shit, but it’s my blog so I DGAF: I’m fucking glad that I’m not going to public school.

So anyways, as I sit here in my own private room, I don’t really feel nervous. Maybe a little. I guess. I’m worried about obvious things, like making friends and shit, but, I don’t know. I have a good feeling about this.

This has been such an amazing summer. Seriously. Staying out past midnight, co-ed sleepovers, first drinks, first cigarettes, good friends and good memories. Not to mention the big things, like Bye Bye Britney or our trip to Seattle. Shoutout to Josh, Forrest and Nishita for making this the best summer ever!

And naturally, it only makes leaving more bittersweet. I’m sad to be separated from good friends, and I know that this isn’t goodbye, but it’s definitely the end of something. But I’m ready for a new beginning. Let’s go.

Do you mind if I end with a Britney quote? Do you really expect anything less? (Some things will never change).

She's gonna pack her bags
She's gonna find her way
She's gonna get right out of this
She don't want New York
She don't want L.A.
She's gonna find that special kiss
She don't want no sleep
She don't want no high
Oh, like peaches 'n' cream
She's gonna wish on stars and touch the sky
Ah, you know what I mean

She wants a good time
No need to rewind
She needs to really really find what she wants
She lands on both feet
Won't take a back seat
There's a brave new girl
And she's comin' out tonight

She's gonna step outside
Uncover her eyes
Who knew she could feel so alive
Her M.O.'s changed
She don't wanna behave
Ain't it good to be a brave girl tonight

1 Response to “The Night Before”


  1. 1 Emily September 12, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Oh, Elaine, everything’s going to be okay. I promise. It’s a daunting prospect, college, but it works out.

    San Francisco’s great, but I can tell you in a heartbeat, you made the right decision going to Savannah. A smaller school, strong in subjects you’re interested in, where you’ll get more individual attention, is invariably better. Getting out of the state you grew up in is invariably better–especially when that state, and particularly the CSU system, is rocked by higher-ed budget cuts that mean your education isn’t as good as it might have been 10 years ago. And big cities are fun and exciting, but they’re not a higher moral good: sometimes smaller cities and towns are just right for some people. I love that I live in a small college town, and from what I know of Savannah (I haven’t been there since I was two) it’s a hip place. And it’s close enough to Atlanta if you go absolutely fucking crazy and need somewhere large enough to have a mass transit system. Atlanta’s cool these days.

    I need only remind you that New Jersey is conveniently located between Georgia and New York. If J+E<3 Productions are planning a reunion, totally totally totally make a stop in Princeton en route!


Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


