O Britney! My Britney!

In English, we has to rewrite Walt Whitman’s “O Captain! My Captain” to be about someone else.

Obviously, I chose Britney Spears. We’ve already featured some Britney poetry on this blog before, but here’s another beautiful example of the art inspired by Britney Spears.

O Britney! My Britney!
O Britney! my Britney! your fearful trip is done;
Your body has weathr’d every drug, the freedom you sought is won;
Your album is out, there is no doubt that Platinum is has become,
The critics still shout, the media still criticizes:
But O I don’t care! I don’t care! I don’t care!
O the scorn from fellow man,
Where on their iPod’s are trendy bands,
I remain a Britney Spears fan.

O Britney! my Britney! you tour across the nation;
Hurry up – the time has come – the stage is set; ;
For you a spectacle – for you a three-ring-circus;
For you they call, the swaying mass, their eager faces turning;
Here Britney! dear role-model!
The Honda Center waits;
Come the eve of April 19th,
We shall have our far-a-way date.

My role-model does not feel my touch, my voice does not fill her ears;
Even when she moves and speaks; she still is never near;
My Britney doesn’t answer, her face remains stiff and still;
Through magazines and TV screens, she’ll never feel my goodwill;
For she will never know me!
Not my face or name,
But I will always follow her,
Because without Britney,  life would be too plain.

3 Responses to “O Britney! My Britney!”


  1. 1 Emily March 16, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Whitman would be most dismayed. Or maybe, given the inexplicable hold that Britney has over the gay male population, he wouldn’t.

    Can I just say that they really ought to teach you some decent Whitman in school? The Lincoln poems are so banal.

  2. 2 jepartyservice March 16, 2009 at 2:20 am

    Really someone needs to teach me how to proof read. And if “proof read” is one word or two.

  3. 3 S@R@H March 19, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Much better than the original!


Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


