Gays and cursing– the “suck” controversy

Just a warning, this post is not going to be as serious as the title makes it sound.

Now, I’m one of those people who refuses to say “that’s gay” when something is REALLY terrible. It’s technically not politically correct since not all gays are REALLY terrible (notable exception: Rosie O’Donnell).

But today, I realized that I can’t use some of my favorite phrases because of the same reason:

  • “That sucks ass”
  • “That sucks serious ass”
  • “That sucks balls”
  • “That sucks serious balls”

I’ve never actually used the phrase “that sucks serious balls” before, but I just included it to keep with the pattern.

But the problem is, is that each and every one of those connotes some gay sexual activity. I guess they could be straight sexual activities too, but shouldn’t I stay away from sexual activity in general? And making gender neutral ones are out of the question– “that sucks serious genitalia” doesn’t quite cut it.

So here are my alternatives, inspired by another favorite of mine, “that’s retarded” (also kind of politically incorrect, but I think the existence of Helen Keller jokes makes it okay):

  • “That sucks retards”
  • “That sucks serious retards”
  • “That retards ass”
  • “That retards serious ass”
  • “That retards balls”
  • “That seriously retards serious balls”

I mean just say that last one out loud! Isn’t it fun?!

Despite these nice alternatives, I’m still going to use “that sucks serious ass,” because it’s just really too fun to say (again, try it out loud and see for yourself).

And remember, practice these phrases responsibly when minors are present!

I’m Out Homiez,

Josh

EDIT:

This is Elaine and I just wanted to inform Josh and rest of the world about the existence of the film Riding The Bus With My Sister, which puts together two things Josh mentioned in this post: Rosie O’Donell and retards.

“You’re WERID!”

And if your so inspired by these clips that you must see the whole movie, well, it’s your lucky day! Some caring soul put the whole thing up on YouTube!

1 Response to “Gays and cursing– the “suck” controversy”


  1. 1 jepartyservice March 10, 2009 at 2:29 am

    this is the best blog post ever!! I plan to send it to all my friends!
    — annu


Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


