Facebook statuses and the death of AIM

I’ve noticed something funny that’s happened to me…

Today I signed into my AIM account, which I don’t do very often (only when Facebook chat completely fails on me and no one is on gchat either). When I went to personalize my away message I discovered just how much facebook has brainwashed me.

I made my away message: “wouldn’t mind a life-threatening disease at the moment.”

What’s so peculiar about this away message you ask?

IT DOESN’T HAVE A SUBJECT.

In fact, I just automatically assumed everybody would read it, “bubbagumpjello05 wouldn’t mind a life-threatening disease at the moment.”

Then I realized that when people messaged me, I’d just send an automatic message with a grammatically incorrect sentence, so I went back to change it.

But I couldn’t.

Starting anything with “I” is awkward. Talking in the third person with “Josh” is just weird. I’m not a girl so I’m not socially allowed to put in an inspirational song lyric about “love”. And I’m avoiding homework at all costs so I couldn’t put in the traditional “homework” and I definitely couldn’t start listing all the homework I have because I don’t even remember most of it (you know how people do: “50 pages of Beowulf, Mariah Carey psych essay, gun control opinion essay, drama scene, and physics test”). I’m not in any mood to command people to “go away!” or “leave me alone to wallow in my misery!”. It wouldn’t be right.

So I just settled on my incomplete sentence without a subject.

What’s next? Will I start putting up my (non-existent) relationship status in my info? Will I change my screenname to my REAL NAME??

The HORROR!!! Imagine the predators that would come flocking!

I seriously doubt it though. Facebook is really here to stay, and AIM is just slowly on its way out. That’s showbidness baby.

It’s really too bad though. The death of AIM is really the end of an era. I remember that whenever I wanted to find dirt (i.e. “are they really going out with Steve?”) on people I would just scour their AIM info for interesting tidbits, usually in the form of “<3 steve 4eva”. And if someone’s away message said, “I hate the world,” you knew it was serious.

But now you can find out all of that stuff and more on facebook! Scandalous photos! Excessive amounts of virtual alcoholic drinks! Thrown sheep! It’s ALL on facebook.

Eh… I guess I don’t miss AIM that much.

❤ Josh 4eva

P.S. I don’t know anyone named Steve.

2 Responses to “Facebook statuses and the death of AIM”


  1. 1 jepartyservice December 4, 2008 at 5:35 am

    Relationship status?

  2. 2 jepartyservice December 4, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Re: Your away message

    How many times do I have to tell you that you’re not allowed to die/kill yourself before April 19th?!


Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


