The Most Important Day of 2008

Okay, so Elaine started this post, but all she wrote was the title, “The Most Important Day of 2008”.

Because I know Elaine quite well, just from this title, I already know what she was going to talk about. It is a day more joyous than Elaine’s birthday, or even mine, or even yours dear reader.

In fact, it happens to be the day our dear Savior Jesus Christ saved us from eternal damnation. That day, my friends, is December 2nd… the day of the birth of Britney Spears in the year 1981 of our Lord (or the year 0 ABS).

This year, December 2nd represents a resurrection and a second coming, all rolled up into one day.

I’ll let Elaine explain why December 2nd is, in fact, the Most Important Day of 2008…

It’s Elaine now. I guess it’s good to have a bestie who knows your thoughts from five words and four numbers (stay tuned for a post about our other mind-reading abilties in the coming days)!

But then again, I guess that you don’t have to be my bestie to know what’s been on my mind lately.

December 2nd, 2008 represents Britney Spears’ 27th birthday, as well as the day that her new studio album “Circus” is released.

Dear friends, I cannot use written or spoken words to describe the feeling that rushes through my body when I think about “Circus”. Let me try to use my new favorite medium of dance to describe it to you:

Okay, so that’s not me. But I think that it sort of sums up my wealth of emotion about 12/2/08.

I fell in love with Britney with the release of 2007’s “Blackout”. I had casually liked her through elementary school, forgot about her in middle school, and then, in the eleventh grade found her again. It was in the middle of her hard year. I don’t need to go into details. You know. But when I heard “Blackout”, it was just so good. Everything was so good. And I accepted Britney, let her enter my heart, and fill it with love and joy.

I showed the CD to Josh (but I wasn’t embarrassed to admitting to him that I loved a Britney Spears CD because I regularly get emails from him with subjects like, “I’m working on a new opera”, or “My a cappella version of ‘Moon River'”).

Anyways, we started to really get into all her music, and the culmination of this was the 26th birthday party that we threw her last year.

Since then we’ve really followed her every move, and naturally, this CD is a giant leap.

Why do I love Britney Spears?

Where to begin. My favorite music includes David Bowie, The Who, Elton John, The Beatles, Iggy Pop, Lou Reed…Britney Spears. I know that she doesn’t have deep/soulful/meaningful lyrics (she hardly even writes!), and none of her songs are musically significant, but…I just love how fun they are. And how easy they are to dance to first thing in the morning in your pajamas, or down at the club with your homies.

I just love everything about her. Every topless photo shoot, every thong-worn-over-jeans, every bump and grind on the dance floor: she may not be role model material, but I don’t care. She’s nothing but Britney.

Everyone, please buy “Circus” on December 2nd. Even if it’s just a few tracks from iTunes. (But once you hear it, you won’t want to stop!!)

Let’s support a woman who has had a tough time. Who is being honest about it, and who is trying to get herself reestablished in the harsh world of show business.

And let’s support an artist who is real.

Real sexy, that is!

britneyspears104

This is Josh again. I just wanted to say that I approve this message.

0 Responses to “The Most Important Day of 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


