Write to Marry

Write to Marry Day

Josh and I live in California, and every day on our way to school we see tons of campaign signs, both for and against Prop 8. Today there was a “Yes” article in the school newspaper, and I would like to provide you with some of REAL exceprts of conversations I have heard among my peers:

  • “In twenty years, three men will want to marry each other. It will all go from here.”
  • “It will make more people gay.”
  • “Gay relationships don’t last as long as normal relationships.”
  • “They can’t reproduce.”
  • “I don’t want my brother to learn about it in school.”

But maybe the most ludicrous thing is the actual slogans from the Yes side. “Protect traditional marriage”. How does this harm those who are already in heterosexual marriages, or will be, at all? I’m pretty sure that marriage is two people joining in love, and that’s the same for two men, two women, or even a man and a woman.

And for people who say “why can’t they just have civil unions”? I guess that I’ll have to quote Ellen DeGeneres who told John McCain, “It sounds like your saying ‘You can sit here, but you can’t sit here'”.

I don’t want to talk about the religious thing. How many atheists marry? How many just plan-old non-Christians marry. My rabbi is a lesbian. I don’t know much about this Jesus fellow, but he seems like a pretty nice guy. I think that he’d be okay with it. I really do. And I know that my God would want everybody to be happy. Is it okay if I quote a little Queer as Folk? Sorry, I can’t help myself. Take it away, Ted!

I think God appreciates it even more because He created you in His image. At least that’s what I was always taught. And since God is love and God doesn’t make mistakes, then you must be exactly the way he wants you to be, the way he intended you to be. And that goes for every person, every planet, every mountain, every grain of sand, every song, every tear, and every faggot. We’re all His, Emmett. He loves us all.

I wish that I could vote. But I can’t. And if you can, there’s only one right (write?) thing to do. It’s plain and simple: Proposition 8 is bigoted discrimination. And that’s not the California I want to live in.

Vote No on Prop 8.

Leave a Reply

Elaine’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Josh’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Contact Elaine and Josh!

Want to say something to us? Don't feel like you can post a comment? No problem! You can get in contact with us here.

Elaine and Josh:

jepartyservice@gmail.com

Elaine:

elgray21@student.scad.edu

Josh:

jl3456@columbia.edu


